This webinar is not for you.
No, really.

This webinar is for your colleagues.
This webinar is for people who are not steeped in the history, the lore and the love of analytics.
This webinar is for people who have not been exposed to digital analytics before.

I’m not going to start at square one.
While it is tempting …

This is a bit (1 or 0)
This is a byte (8 bits = one ASCII character)
This is a datum (24 bits = 3 bytes = 3 characters = “Jim”)
This is data (10 bytes = “Jim Sterne” + meta data (first;last) = name)
This is information (2k bytes = personally identifiable as me)
This is knowledge (What I like on Facebook)

… it really is patronizing

Instead, I’m going to explain:

How we got started with web data. Remember log files?
How Big Data works – a technical description for non-technical people
How the hype train went off the track and what can still be accomplished
How hard it is to work with data including the diversity of tools
How to identify a business problem to solve
How analysts are creative people at heart
How visualization helps
How hard it is to communicate this stuff in a way that prompts action

This is all couched in terms of how an analyst can be a great analyst.

You already know all of this stuff.

BUT – if you know people who would benefit from this sort of introduction then please let them know.

OR – if you want to hear me present it so you can download it and present it internally then please tune in.

It’s going to be on Tuesday, August 27, 2013 from

10:00 AM – 11:00 AM Pacific
11:00 AM – 12:00 Noon Mountain
12:00 Noon – 1:00 PM Central
1:00 PM – 2:00 PM Eastern

And you can sign up here:
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4430470361771333376?jsblog

Please do!

P.S. Tell your colleagues to join in this webinar or watch it later and then invite them for a brown bag lunch to talk about how it applies to your organization.

Sincerely,
Jim Sterne

Share This